Stocking up on sweets for your next at-home movie night? Luckily, if you or your guests are vegan, the options aren’t that limited. A surprising number of classic options like Red Vines and certain suckers (Kourt’s latest pick for her candy jar) are vegan-friendly.
Whether you’re a strict vegan or dipping your toes into the lifestyle, remember it’s all about balance and educating yourself on what you’re putting into your body. Ahead we’re sharing three key ingredients to look out for when shopping for vegan-friendly (store-bought) treats, plus a hefty list of 19 options to satisfy your sugar craving.
Be sure to check the labels as companies do update ingredients from time to time.
The main ingredients to look out for are:
Cochineal and carmine: used for red coloring and typically made from crushed bugs. Red dye number 40 is a vegan-friendly red dye.
Gelatin: a protein typically from cow or pig skin that’s boiled in water to create a thick, gel-like texture.
Beeswax: a sneaky ingredient used to coat candy and even some fruit.
Shop our vegan candy list below.
Up next, shop the newest items from the Poosh Shop here.